New Album "After the Fall" out May 6th

ADD YOUR EMAIL to our mailing list to be the first to hear about new music, giveaways, and more!

The Walkaways are:

  • Todd Daniel—lead vocals, guitar, mandolin
  • Mark Bower—keys, mandolin, accordion, guitar, vocals
  • John Cunningham— drums and percussion
  • Bobby Birdsong—pedal-steel guitar
  • Aaron Lowenberger—guitar and bass
  • Marc Kannenberg—bass

The Walkaways are a metropolitan DC-based band, making original music since 2006. The band is currently putting the finishing touches on their third full-length album, tentatively entitled "After the Fall" and scheduled for a 2016 release. This follows Fifty Left to Burn (2008) and Romance and Medicine (2012), the latter recorded and co-produced with Grammy-nominated producer John Jennings (Mary Chapin Carpenter, Indigo Girls, The Rankin Family, Iris Dement).

From the beginning The Walkaways' sound has been called "alt-country" (Washington Post, Washington City Paper, Washingtonian Magazine), and that description still fits pretty well. Their songs draw even more broadly, however, from Americana, folk, roots, country, indie, and classic rock. Key influences include Ryan Adams, Son Volt, Wilco, Springsteen, Uncle Tupelo, Josh Ritter, The Band, and Old 97s.

You can hear The Walkaways play live at popular DC-area venues that support original music, such as IOTA, Gypsy Sallys, Sehkraft Brewery, Evening Star Cafe, and Port City Brewery, along with local festivals, charity events, and every now and then at venues in NYC like Arlene's Grocery and Rockwood Music Hall.

Upcoming shows

  • wed

Evening Star Cafe,
Del Ray, VA
8-10 pm w/Laura Hammond

  • sat

7 Locks Brewing,
Rockville, MD
7-10pm no cover

  • fri

Port City Brewing,
Alexandria, VA
7-9pm no cover


  • 08.01.16
    We are in the final stages of mixing our third record, tentatively titled After the Fall, with Mark Williams of Sucker Punch studios. Many thanks to Mike Reina at The Brink for great work on the drum and vocal tracks.